On 4 April 2024, we cordially invite you to the presentation of the book In the Making. In the Desert of Modernity: Colonial Planning and After. A Research-Based Practice edited by Sabeth Buchmann, Susanne Leeb and Peter Spillmann for Labor K 3000. The book centres on the working method of the artist and exhibition maker Marion von Osten (1963-2020).

Through the genesis of one of her major exhibitions, In the Desert of Modernity: Colonial Planning and After, and other related exhibitions, Marion von Osten recounts modes of research, forms of collaboration, research trips, and encounters. Was the book ColonialModern. Aesthetics of the Past, Rebellions for the Future (ed. by Tom Avermaete, Serhat Karakayali, Marion von Osten) dedicated to the exhibition itself, which deals with the connection between architecture, urban planning, and colonialism, Marion von Osten’s In the Making traces the conceptual and design settings of exhibition making and reveals connections in order to reconnect them where necessary. Almost as if incidentally and yet quite centrally, In the Making establishes walking, talking, listening, meeting, relating asessential components of inquiry-not only in a postcolonial context, but especially there.

Addressing spatial politics, power relations, and social struggles at the time of colonialism, liberation struggles, and decolonization in North Africa, In the Making welcomes unexpected encounters and opens pathways to parainstitutional and feminist exhibition making.

Am 4. April 2024 laden wir herzlich ein zur Präsentation des Buches In the Making. In the Desert of Modernity: Colonial Planning and After. A Research-Based Practice herausgegeben von Sabeth Buchmann, Susanne Leeb und Peter Spillmann für Labor K 3000. Das Buch handelt von der Arbeitsweise der Künstlerin und Ausstellungsmacherin Marion von Osten (1963-2020).

Anhand der Genese einer ihrer großen Ausstellungen In the Desert of Modernity: Colonial Planning and After und weiteren damit verbunden Ausstellungen erzählt Marion von Osten von Weisen der Recherche, von Formen der Zusammenarbeit, von Forschungsreisen und Begegnungen. War das Buch Colonial Modern. Aesthetics of the Past, Rebellions for the Future (hg. von Tom Avermaete, Serhat Karakayali, Marion von Osten) der Ausstellung selbst gewidmet, in der es um den Zusammenhang von Architektur, Stadtplanung und Kolonialismus geht, lässt Marion von Osten in In the Making konzeptionelle und gestalterische Setzungen des Ausstellungsmachens nachvollziehen und legt Zusammenhänge offen, um sie, wo nötig, neu zu verknüpfen. Fast wie nebenher und doch ganz zentral etabliert In the Making spazieren, sprechen, zuhören, treffen, verbinden als wesentliche Bestandteile der Recherche – nicht nur in einem postkolonialen Zusammenhang, aber vor allem dort.

In the Making, das sich mit Raumpolitik, Machtverhältnissen und sozialen Kämpfen zur Zeit des Kolonialismus, der Befreiungskämpfe und Dekolonisierung in Nordafrika auseinandersetzt, heißt unerwartete Begegnungen willkommen und eröffnet Wege zu einem parainstitutionellen und feministischen Ausstellungsmachen.